Snowflakes are dancing : Tomita

If anyone’s been unlucky/lucky* enough to miss out on the lovely/horrid* snow this week, I thought they might enjoy this : Tomita’s Snowflakes are Dancing, a version of a piece originally written by Claude Debussy for solo piano, but performed here on a Moog synthesiser the size of a small bungalow.

The harsh word for this is, I suppose, kitsch, but I think this particular piece works quite well.  I suppose the Japanese have a reputation for being good with snow, and there a kind of poignancy about music that was perceived as wildly futuristic at the time it was made (1974) but now sound almost primitive.

(Feel free to insert any joke that strikes you as appropriate about Chill out music, by the way).

For anyone who prefers their Debussy unsynthesised, here is a rendition by Alfred Cortot  from 1928:

(* Delete accordance to your circumstances and preference).

2 thoughts on “Snowflakes are dancing : Tomita

  1. My God, I’d forgotten all about this one! One of the advantages of having older sisters is that one was exposed to loads of music that the average 9 year old didn’t hear or enjoy. Sister the First had friends who did music and one of them had a Mini Moog and was by default the coolest man on the planet. A girl at school who was trying to impress me in September of 1975 said that that she had heard “that Tomata” on the radio and thought it was rubbish. It wasn’t actually.

    • Glad you like it. Funnily enough, although I was about the right age to have heard this when it was first released, I never did – I just remember seeing adverts for it in the Melody Maker, or whatever it was that I was reading then. Now, thanks to the wonders of the internet, I’ve finally caught up with it.

Leave a Reply

