Too green? John Betjeman at St Pancras

I would just like to announce that this blog has now entered a new era, and has taken a further step along the road to becoming a true Multi-Media Experience.  I have managed to acquire a digital camera (by inheritance from my daughter) so readers had better brace themselves for a brief, Toad-like outbust of enthusiasm for photography.  It’s the only thing, you know, and, of course, so much less effort than actually writing something.  At present, I am roughly to the world of photography what Cyril Smith is to the modelling of skinny jeans, but perhaps I shall improve with practice.

Anyway, here is my first photograph –

John Betjeman at St Pancras

 This, as you will observe, is the much-lauded statue of John Betjeman at St Pancras Station.  My normal route out of the station doesn’t take me past this, but occasionally – when the elevators are broken – it does and my point is that every time I pass him he seems to get greener and greener.  I’m sure he didn’t look quite like this when the statue was new.

I believe this is because the statue is made of bronze, which is largely made of copper, which – as we know from looking at lightning conductors on the spires of churches – turns green when it oxidises – but quite how green is he going to get?  He did write –

“Little, alas, to you I mean

For I am old and bald and green.”

But surely not this green?

(Incidentally, this will have to count as my contribution to the celebration of St Patrick’s Day).

 

Have they not heard of Dura-glit?

6 thoughts on “Too green? John Betjeman at St Pancras

  1. Nothing wrong with that pic at all and that statue is such a joy. Good job that man. The great thing with digital is that you can take as many pictures as you like and really get experimental because you don’t have to print a single one if you don’t want to. This is very liberating. Have fun with it and I look forward to seeing more.

  2. Thank you, WH – more snaps on the way soon I hope, provided, of course, I don’t get arrested. I believe the police take a very tough line on amateur photographers these days.

  3. Peter Ashley was once stopped in London for taking photographs NEAR a police station. Burly coppers, “what are we doing Sir” the whole shebang. But once you lose the embarassment of holding the camera up to your eye you stop worrying. Anyway the Leicestershire Police are only interested in fining drivers as far as I can see…

  4. It is absurd, isn’t it? At least with most of these Civil Liberties v Security issues (scanners at airports etc.) I can see some logic in the official position – however strongly I disagree with it. But this paranoia about photography strikes me as simply barking.

    Still, haven’t had my collar felt so far.

Leave a Reply

