Happy Birthday, Carol Vordeman!

Today is Carol Vordeman’s fiftieth birthday (and mine).  Happy birthday, Carol!

Apart from expressing the vague aspiration to avoid turning into a reactionary old curmudgeon, I can think of nothing of any significance to say about this momentous milestone in my life, and hers (and I have a party to go to shortly).  

So, instead, I thought you might enjoy this photograph of the churchyard of the Saxon church at Brixworth in the snow .  If you ever feel the need to clear your head, by the way, this is a very good place to go.

And so it’s a Merry Christmas to you all (and a Happy Birthday to me).

 

 

8 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Carol Vordeman!

  1. Very, very happy birthday BW – I bet La Vorderman doesn’t write such an interesting blog!

    Merry Christmas to you and yours.

  2. Happy birthday and merry Christmas!

    Don’t worry about sharing the great day with Vorderperson: a rather better mathematician, Isaac Newton, was born on 25 December (Old Style), at Woolsthorpe in Lincolnshire (just over the Leicestershire border).

  3. Good to hear from you, Chunter, and a Merry Christmas to you too. Interesting news about Isaac Newton. I’m trying to picture him keeping the scores on Countdown, but not succeeding, as yet.

  4. Please accept TM’s apologies for missing your birthday. He knows that it is a certain Mr Carpenter’s on the 29th because of the most convenient information offered by Face Book.
    Every good wish for the Great Litel Blog in 2011.

  5. Thank you for that, TM, and a belated Happy Christmas to you. Congratulations, too, on your ever-stimulating blog (I don’t know whether you can tell this from your “dashboard”, but I never miss an episode).

    Mr. Carpenter is another name from the past, but beyond the fact that he was a master at Rossall (I assume that’s the one you mean) I’m not sure I can place him. George? Pelican House?

  6. BWM,
    Different Shades of Green, Carpenter has a birthday tomorrow according to FaceBook.
    Congratulations also on the wonderful Trott find. Have you been waiting lomg time for Jonathan to get into the 160’s?
    TM

  7. Ah, that makes more sense. Now I think about it, the other Mr. Carpenter would be about 100 years old, and probably not the FaceBook type.

    I was hoping JT would get himself out for 164, of course, but I thought this would be about the nearest I was going to get.

Leave a Reply

