The Last Of Winter

Another instead-of-a-post post, I’m afraid.

This is the last week I shall (weather permitting) have no live cricket to write about.  Leicestershire are beginning their season with a very “soft launch” involving a 2-day friendly against Northamptonshire on Tuesday and I hope to be there.  This time next week I shall be having the novel (and not entirely welcome) experience of watching the first day of a Championship match on a Sunday.  Whether I will find the time or inclination to write about these I know not.  The prospects for Leicestershire, this blog and Yours Truly are uncertain at present and I don’t think I’ve ever approached a season (or a Spring) with lower expectations.

But perhaps that is for the best.  I am conscious of expecting far too much from cricket and if I do happen to be Surprised by Joy at any point during the season that will be more than the sane man could reasonably expect.

Meanwhile, as the clocks go forward, a last look back at Winter and another view across the Cemetery at a tea-time post-match sunset (this time after a 6-0 home defeat by AFC Rushden and Diamonds).  I don’t want to tempt fate, but I’m not sure even Leicestershire will be able to top that one in the ignominy stakes.  But then they never fail to surprise me, one way or another.

 

Northampton Road Cemetery March 2014

 

2 thoughts on “The Last Of Winter

  1. An unusual, slightly melancholy tone. Hopefully prospects for you and the blog aren’t too uncertain, although I doubt if either of us would feel able to say the same about Leicestershire.

    Of course, today’s game has been postponed for the sort of tragic reason which puts everything into perspective.

  2. Thanks, Brian. Not quite as drastic as it sounds. Most of the angst and uncertainty is work and/or age-related – and, of course, I’m not alone in that. Yes, very sad about Tom Poynton and his Dad. I sometimes suspect the point of sport is to allow us to be preoccupied with things that don’t really matter.

Leave a Reply

