A Christmas message from King George V

I thought anyone who happened to miss this afternoon’s Christmas message  by Her Majesty the Queen might enjoy the following: King George V’s message to the Empire, originally heard at Christmas 1935.

The poor old boy didn’t have very long to go when he recorded this (he died on January 20th 1936) and was only able to get through it with a bit of help (cocaine)  from his rather sinister doctor, who eventually finished him off in the night, according to legend, so that his death would make that morning’s edition of the Times newspaper.  

Some of this does sound remarkably contemporary –

“May the spirit of goodwill and mutual helpfulness grow and spread so that it will bring not only the blessing of peace, but a solution of the economic problems which still beset us”.

And so say all of us, I think.

2 thoughts on “A Christmas message from King George V

  1. What a nicely done piece of film; I don’t know how you find them. Can you imagine Her Madge releasing her speeches on CD for the entertainment of her adoring subjects? I did miss the Queen’s Speech as a. I forgot and b. I was face down in a shamefully large plate of tuck and c. I refuse to have a television set in the dining room. Did she mention me?

    Do hope you and the Backwaterswomen are having a jolly time. I know I am, and it’s not over yet as I have to go to London tomorrow for The Rallying of The Clan. Hurrah!

  2. I’m sure it’s possible to download HMQ’s speech from I-tunes (We tunes? My husband and I-tunes? One tunes?).

    I don’t think she mentioned you by name, no, though I think there was something about 2009 being the first year she’d managed to marzipan her Christmas cake properly, so I think she probably has been following your blog.

    We’re all having a good time, thank you. The Backwaterswomen are all in high spirits. Daughter had a slight touch of dysentery (over it now) and youngest sister’s house seems to have collapsed, but other than that …

    Hope your ROC goes well – mine was on Christmas Eve (my birthday) – and I look forward to reading more from you and your blog in the New Year.

Leave a comment